Log In

Jeremy Plonk: Preakness Post Position Draw Rapid Reaction

by Jeremy Plonk

May 16, 2022

Kentucky Derby runner-up Epicenter and Kentucky Oaks winner Secret Oath topped nine entries this afternoon for Saturday’s 147th running of the Preakness Stakes. Pimlico Racecourse’s middle jewel in the Triple Crown tops a 14-race program that begins at 10:30 am ET with Preakness post time set for 6:45 pm ET. Maryland Jockey Club oddsmaker Keith Feustle tabbed Epicenter the 7-5 morning line favorite.

Bettors playing Preakness with 1/ST BET and Xpressbet can take advantage of up to a $10 money-back special Friday and Saturday on every Pimlico race – if your win bet finishes second or third. Early bird wagering for the entire Preakness card is available Friday on both platforms.

Beaten favorite in the Kentucky Derby, Epicenter will start from post 8 under jockey Joel Rosario for two-time Preakness-winning trainer Steve Asmussen. Secret Oath, attempting to join Rachel Alexandra (2009) as the only Kentucky Oaks-Preakness winners in history, will begin from post 4. She’s conditioned by 5-time Preakness winner D. Wayne Lukas, age 86, who last won this race with Oxbow in 2013.

Epicenter projects to be on or pressing the Preakness pace with Wood Memorial runner-up Early Voting, who leaves from post 5. Early Voting is the race’s potential front-runner and follows the same path as Klaravich Stables and Chad Brown-trained Cloud Computing, winner of the 2017 Preakness. Being drawn inside of Epicenter, it’s almost certain Early Voting will go to the front. Widest-drawn Skippylongstocking also may show a bit more speed and be part of the mix. With a long run into the first turn and modest field size, post positions should not play a major role in the outcome.

For more Preakness in-depth coverage visit 1st.com/guide and download the free 1/ST BET and Xpressbet Preakness Wager Guide, available Wednesday. Also check out https://news.1st.com/blog/preakness-stakes-picks for our complete coverage of Preakness 147, including contender profiles, blogs, videos and more.

Pimlico Racecourse // Race 13 // 147th Grade 1 $1.65 million Preakness Stakes// 1-3/16 miles

1. Simplification // Antonio Sano // John Velazquez // 6-1
2. Creative Minister // Kenny McPeek // Brian Hernandez Jr. // 10-1
3. Fenwick // Kevin McKathan // Florent Geroux // 50-1
4. Secret Oath // D. Wayne Lukas // Luis Saez // 9-2
5. Early Voting // Chad Brown // Jose Ortiz // 7-2
6. Happy Jack // Doug O’Neill // Tyler Gaffalione // 30-1
7. Armagnac // Tim Yakteen // Irad Ortiz Jr. // 12-1
8. Epicenter // Steve Asmussen // Joel Rosario // 6-5
9. Skippylongstocking // Saffie Joseph Jr. // Junior Alvarado // 20-1

NBC will broadcast the Preakness action from 4-7:30 pm on Saturday. CNBC will televise undercard races from 2-4 pm ET.