Log In

Santa Anita $500 February Handicapping Challenge


  • $500 Total Buy-In, split between:
    • 300 Live Tournament Bankroll
    • $200 Entry Fee (100% of Entry Fees will be paid out as Prizes)
  • Maximum of three (3) entries per person.
  • You must have an Xpressbet account balance of $500 or more to register for this tournament.
  • Online registration begins Monday, February 17, 2020 and continues through 5:30PM ET on Saturday, February 22, 2020.
  • You must be an NHC Tour Member prior to the start of the tournament in order to win an NHC Entry.
  • This is an official NHC Tour event and NHC Points will be awarded for this tournament.

Prizes (Based on 175 Entries)

  • Six (6) entries into the Ultimate Betting Challenge (UBC) at Santa Anita/Gulfstream/Xpressbet on Saturday, March 7, 2020 ($3,000 value each).
  • Two (2) entries into the 2021 NTRA National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), featuring a four-night stay at Bally's in Las Vegas and a $500 travel allowance.
  • $10,000 Cash Prize pool to the top five (5) finishers.
  • Please See Official Rules for Full Prize Distribution.

Tournament Format

  • Tournament races are all live races from Santa Anita Park on Saturday, February 22, 2020 and also Races 6 – 9 from Golden Gate Fields on February 22, 2020.
  • Permitted wagers will include Win, Place, Show, Exacta, Trifecta, and Daily Double wagers.
  • Daily Double wagers will count toward the wagering total in the race the bet is placed.
  • No Superfecta, Super High 5, Pick 3, Pick 4, Pick 5 or Pick 6 wagers will be permitted in this contest. The Parlay function for Win, Place and Show wagers will not be permitted during this contest for both on-track players at Santa Anita and online players using Xpressbet.
  • Players must wager a minimum of three (3) contest races at a minimum of $50 on each of the three (3) races.
  • Each entry must wager their entire $300 bankroll on Saturday, February 22, 2020.
  • There are no maximums in regard to the amount a player is permitted to wager during this contest. Players may wager as much as they want, including winnings from their bankroll, whenever they wish.


PlacePlayerScorePrize Value
1Christy Moore$5,502.50$10,000 + NHC '21
2Sammy Richman$4,590.00$4,000 + NHC '21
3Tim Yohler$4,077.10$3,000 + NHC '21
4Evan Trommer$3,095.00$2,000 + NHC '21
5Kevin McGrath$2,325.00$1,000 + $1,500 On-Track Bonus + UBC '20
6Alexa Zepp$2,180.40UBC '20
7Donald Allen$2,080.00UBC '20
8Larry Konishi$2,038.50UBC '20
9Tony Zhou$1,988.00UBC '20
10Jim Benes$1,922.00UBC '20
11Tyler Hoffman$1,870.00UBC '20
12Chris Larmey$1,766.00UBC '20
13James Henry$1,674.15UBC '20