Log In

Santa Anita $500 January Handicapping Challenge


  • $500 Total Buy-In, split between:
    • $300 Live Tournament Bankroll
    • $200 Entry Fee (100% of Entry Fees will be paid out as Prizes)
  • Maximum of three (3) entries per person.
  • You must have an Xpressbet account balance of $500 or more to register for this tournament.
  • Online registration begins Sunday, January 5, 2020 and continues through 5:30PM ET.  There is no pre-registration for this tournament.  
  • You must be an NHC Tour Member prior to the start of the tournament in order to win an NHC Entry.
  • This is an official NHC Tour event and NHC Points will be awarded for this tournament. 

Prize Pool Based on 175 Entries:

  • Three (3) full entries into the 2020 Pegasus World Cup Betting Championship (PWCBC), including a $600 travel allowance if, and only if, the winner plays in the 2020 PWCBC at Gulfstream Park.
  • Two (2) entries into the 2020 or 2021 NTRA National Horseplayers Championship, featuring a four-night stay at Bally's in Las Vegas and a $500 travel allowance.
  • $10,000 Cash Prize pool to the top five (5) finishers.
  • Please See Official Rules for Full Prize Distribution.

Tournament Format

  • Tournament races are all live races from Santa Anita Park on Sunday, January 5, 2020.
  • Permitted wagers will include Win, Place, Show, Exacta, Trifecta, and Daily Double wagers.
  • Players must wager a minimum of three (3) contest races at a minimum of $50 on each of the three (3) races.
  • Each entry must wager their entire $300 bankroll on Sunday, January 5, 2020. There are no maximums in regard to the amount a player is permitted to wager during this contest. Players may wager as much as they want, including winnings from their bankroll, whenever they wish. 
  • Daily Double wagers will count toward the wagering total in the race the bet is placed.
  • No Superfecta, Super High 5, Pick 3, Pick 4, Pick 5 or Pick 6 wagers will be permitted in this contest. Santa Anita Park's 'Roulette Bet' will not be permitted in this contest. The Parlay function for Win, Place and Show wagers will not be permitted during this contest for both on-track players at Santa Anita and online players using Xpressbet.


PlacePlayerScorePrize Value
1Frank Mustari$4,536.002020 Pegasus + $10,000
2Jon Petoskey$4,386.902020 NHC + $4,000
3Dellie Ford$3,425.002020 NHC + $3,000
4Stephen Thompson$3,026.802020 Pegasus + $2,000
5Steve Hartshorn$2,401.002020 Pegasus + $1,000 + $1,500 On-Track Bonus
6Christopher Podratz$2,376.502020 Pegasus
7Brian Eng$2,024.902020 Pegasus
8Gary Bain$1,933.502020 Pegasus

Full Leaderboard