Log In


The Arkansas Derby is a dirt track horse race exclusively for three-year-olds that takes place annually in April at Oaklawn Park, located in Hot Springs, Arkansas. This prestigious race, which covers a distance of 1 1/8 miles, currently holds a Grade I status.

Oaklawn Park, home of the Arkansas Derby, celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2004 by providing a $5 million bonus to any horse that could win its three-year-old graded stakes, namely the Rebel Stakes and the Arkansas Derby, and subsequently emerge victorious in the Kentucky Derby. Smarty Jones became the first horse to claim this bonus. The horse's subsequent performances in the Triple Crown helped to increase the participation of the finest three-year-olds in the nation. As a result, in 2010, the American Graded Stakes Committee elevated the Arkansas Derby's status to Grade I.

American Pharoah is the star of the Arkansas Derby winners. He's famous because he won the Triple Crown, something that hadn't happened in 37 years and only 11 other horses have ever achieved. He's also the first Arkansas Derby champ to win the Triple Crown. Just like Smarty Jones, he won both the Rebel and Arkansas Derby before finally winning the Kentucky Derby.


Saturday, April 1, 2023 // Oaklawn Park

Race 1 // $110K Maiden // Dirt 6 Furlongs // 1:30PM ET
Race 2 // $125K Allowance // Dirt 6 Furlongs // 2:00PM ET
Race 3 // $125K Allowance // Dirt 5 1/2 Furlongs // 2:30PMPM ET
Race 4 // $110K Maiden // Dirt 6 Furlongs // 3:00PM ET
Race 5 // $400K Oaklawn Mile S. // Dirt 1 Mile // 3:32PM ET
Race 6 // $110K Maiden // Dirt 6 Furlongs // 4:08PM ET
Race 7 // $125K Allowance // Dirt 6 Furlongs // 4:44PM ET
Race 8 // $200K Hot Springs S. // Dirt 1 Mile // 5:19PM ET
Race 9 // $110K Maiden // Dirt 1 1/16 Miles // 5:55PM ET
Race 10 // $600K Fantasy S. // Dirt 1 1/16 Miles // 4:04PM ET
Race 11 // $125K Allowance // Dirt 6 Furlongs // 7:10PM ET
Race 12 // $1.25M Arkansas Derby // Dirt 1 1/8 Miles // 7:50PM ET
Race 13 // $125K Allowance // Dirt 1 Mile // 8:25PM ET



1 | Bourbon Bash Reylu Gutierrez D. Wayne Lukas
2 | Interlock Empire David Cabrera Kenneth G. McPeek
3 | Harlocap Ricardo Santana, Jr. Steve Asmussen
4 | Two Eagles River Nik Juarez Chris A. Hartman
5 | Airtime Cristian A. Torres Robertino Diodoro
6 | Angel of Empire Flavien Prat Brad H. Cox
7 | Rocket Can Junior Alvarado William I. Mott
8 | Reincarnate John R. Velazquez Tim Yakteen
9 | King Russell Rafael Bejarano Ron Moquett
10 | Red Route One Tyler Gaffalione Steve Asmussen
11 | Kolomio James Graham J. Keith Desormeaux


Recent Winners

2022 Cyberknife Florent Geroux | Brad H. Cox
2021 Super Stock Ricardo Santana, Jr. | Steven M. Asmussen
2020 *Race Split Into 2 Divisions Nadal Joel Rosario | Bob Baffert
2020 *Race Split Into 2 Divisions Charlatan Martin Garcia | Bob Baffert
2019 Omaha Beach Mike E. Smith | Richard E. Mandella


XB Blog

XB Blog


$25,000 Exacta-Thon Picks for Oaklawn | Saturday, February 24, 2024

The $25,000 Exacta-Thon from 1/ST BET and Xpressbet on Saturday at Oaklawn Park gives the kind of boost every horseplayer should love. Hit exactas … win more money than other players. It’s that si...

Read Article

Jon White: A New Kentucky Derby No. 1, Plus Rebel Stakes Picks

There is a new No. 1 on my Kentucky Derby Top 10. Fierceness is relinquishing that position this week. I wrote this last week: “I’m thinking that there is a good chance whoever wins the Risen Star...

Read Article

Race of the Week: $600K Razorback at Oaklawn | Saturday, February 24, 2024

The Lead: The $600,000 purse of the Razorback Handicap catches the eye, but you quickly learn when scanning the past performances that these are not horses worthy of the lofty pot. But as you get thro...

Read Article

TERMS & CONDITIONS: GET150 - Promotional offer is valid beginning February 12, 2024. and continues until further notice. Open to new 1/ST account signups and inactive DRF Bets members only. Active DRF Bets customers are ineligible to earn this offer. An inactive DRF Bets customer is defined as someone who has not placed a wager with DRF Bets in the last 13 months. Customer will receive a 100% Deposit Match Bonus based on their first deposit, up to $150, within 14 days of sign up. Deposit $150 to receive the full $150 Bonus. Deposit Match Bonus will be deposited into qualifying accounts within 24 hours. Additionally, customer will receive a $25 Bonus if they make a successful qualifying deposit within 30 minutes of sign up. Customer forfeits $25 Bonus if they do not deposit within 30 minutes. Qualifying deposit types are Bank Transfer (ACH), VISA, MasterCard, PayPal, Venmo, GreenDot® MoneyPak®, PayNearMe®, NETELLER, GreenDot® @ the Register™, Wire Transfer, Personal Check, Money Order or in-person at an Xpressbet Welcome Center. All promotional credits are deposited as wagering credits. Wagering credits are different from cash, and cannot be transferred, redeemed or withdrawn. Unused wagering credits will be retracted 14 days after they are deposited. Must be 18 or older (21 in AL, AZ, IA, IN, KS, NH, ND, WA) to open an account with 1/ST and reside in a state where such activity is legal. Void where prohibited. Cannot be combined with any other offer. National Problem Gambling Support Line 800.522.4700.