Log In

Fountain of Youth Stakes Post Draw Reaction

by Jeremy Plonk

February 24, 2021

Ten runners passed the entry box for Saturday’s Grade 2 Fasig-Tipton Fountain of Youth Stakes, featured among 9 stakes on a 14-race card. The action gets underway at 11:30AM ET with post time for the main event slated for 6:10PM ET. Greatest Honour, winner of the Jan. 30 Grade 3 Holy Bull Stakes, headlines the Fountain of Youth and will begin from post 8 as the 9-5 morning-line favorite. He’ll try to give trainer Shug McGaughey his third victory in this race since 2013, joining Orb and Code of Honor.

The Fountain of Youth re-matches the top-5 finishers of the Holy Bull. In addition to Greatest Honour, returnees include Tarantino (post 8), beaten 6-5 favorite Prime Factor (post 2), Papetu (post 10) and Jirafales (post 5). Tarantino and Prime Factor have the most speed of the Holy Bull returnees and the draw gives Prime Factor the decided advantage among those with a short run into the clubhouse turn.

The Fountain of Youth pace almost certainly comes from 7-furlong Swale winner Drain the Clock, who drew post 1 and will be on a send-mission. This will be his first 2-turn bid after winning 4 of 5 sprints. Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf winner Fire at Will begins from post 4 in his sophomore return and will be able to save ground, but may take dirt in his face racing inside and behind others. The wider draw for late-running Greatest Honour should be mitigated some if he’s patient into the clubhouse turn.

1/ST BET & Xpressbet offer a $20 Money-Back Special on the Fasig-Tipton Fountain of Youth. Get up to $20 back if your win bet finishes second or third.

For more Fountain of Youth coverage this week, be sure to check out Johnny D’s Thursday blog “On Track” for horse-by-horse analysis. Plus: Eddie Olczyk and Jeff Siegel provide their video analysis Thursday at XBTV.com.

2021 Fasig-Tipton Fountain of Youth Field

Jockeys and official track morning line odds:

#1 Drain the Clock // Edgard Zayas // 5-1
#2 Prime Factor // Irad Ortiz Jr. // 5-1
#3 Sososubtle // Paco Lopez // 20-1
#4 Fire at Will // Kendrick Carmouche // 7-2
#5 Jirafales // Javier Castellano // 20-1
#6 King's Ovation // Corey Lanerie // 15-1
#7 Tarantino // Tyler Gaffalione // 8-1
#8 Greatest Honour // Jose Ortiz // 9-5
#9 Tiz Tact Toe // Rajiv Maragh // 30-1
#10 Papetu // Junior Alvarado // 15-1