Log In

New Customers: Pick Your Sign Up Bonus

$500 Bonus

Sign Up with Promo Code XB500* and earn $10 for every $100 you bet, up to a $500 Bonus.

XB500 Sign Up

$100 Bonus

Sign Up with Promo Code XB100** and earn a $100 Bonus when you bet $500 within 90 days.

XB100 Sign Up

$20 Bonus

Sign Up with Promo Code XB20*** and earn a $20 Bonus when you bet $20 within 30 days.

XB20 Sign Up

2019 Preakness Stakes Replay

Preakness Stakes Promotions

Celebrate the Preakness Stakes and Black-Eyed Susan by betting with Xpressbet! Bolster your XB Rewards bankroll by taking advantage of our lucrative XB Rewards Promotions for the 2019 Preakness.

Current Promotions

About the 2020 Preakness Stakes

Ready to bet the 2020 Preakness Stakes with Xpressbet?
Here’s what you need to know:

When is the Preakness Stakes?
May 16, 2020

Where is the Preakness Stakes held?
Pimlico Racecource in Baltimore, MD

What time does the Preakness Stakes start?
Approximately Approximately 6:45PM ET

How many total horses are in the Preakness Stakes?
Up to 14 starters

Where can I watch the Preakness Stakes?

NBCSN: 2:30PM ET – 5:00PM ET, NBC: 5:00PM ET – 7:00PM ET

How can I bet on the Preakness Stakes Stakes?
Xpressbet offers legal wagering, live video and expert picks. Join us this year for the Preakness Stakes – Sign Up Now to Choose Your Bonus and start wagering today!

Who won the
2019 Preakness Stakes

Finish Horse Jockey Trainer
1 War of Will › Tyler Gaffalione Mark E. Casse
2 Everfast › Joel Rosario Dale Romans
3 Owendale › Florent Geroux Brad Cox
4 Warrior's Charge › Javier Castellano Brad Cox
5 Laughing Fox › Ricardo Santana Jr. Steve Asmussen
6 Improbable › Mike Smith Bob Baffert
7 Win Win Win › Julian Pimentel Michael J. Trombetta
8 Bourbon War › Irad Ortiz, Jr. Mark Hennig
9 Signalman › Brian Hernandez Jr. Ken McPeek
10 Anothertwistafate › Jose Ortiz Blaine Wright
11 Alwaysmining › Daniel Centeno Kelly Rubley
12 Market King › Jon Court D. Wayne Lukas
13/DNF Bodexpress › John Velazquez Gustavo Delgado

Past Contenders & Results: 2018 Preakness Stakes | 2019 Preakness Stakes

Preakness Stakes History

The Preakness Stakes was run for the first time in 1873, and while it may be the Second Jewel of the Triple Crown now, its first running was two years prior to the inaugural Kentucky Derby. The race earned its title from former Maryland Governor Oden Bowie after a colt named Preakness won the Dinner Party Stakes, the race held on Pimlico’s opening day in 1870. The record margin of victory set by John Chamberlain’s three-year-old Survivor during that first race, winning by 10 lengths, wasn’t bested until 2004 when Smarty Jones won by 11 ½ lengths.

The Preakness almost always attracts the Kentucky Derby winner, along with other Derby horses and often a few that didn’t start in the Derby as well. It’s also the shortest of the three Triple Crown races at 1 3/16 miles, compared to the Kentucky Derby (1 1/4 miles) and the longest, the Belmont Stakes (1 1/2 miles). While these three races have always made up the Triple Crown, it wasn’t until 1932 the order of the races was officially set. Prior to then, the Preakness was run before the Kentucky Derby 11 times and twice, in 1917 and 1922, on the same day.

The famous Secretariat holds the record for the fastest Preakness Stakes, set in 1973 with a clocked time of 1 minute and 53 seconds. Secretariat additionally holds the records for the fastest editions of the other two Triple Crown races.

How to Bet

Bet the Preakness Stakes Online or on Tablet or your Mobile Smartphone (iPhone or Android).

Learn More

How to Watch

Xpressbet offers live video for every track we offer, including Pimlico, home of the Preakness Stakes.

Learn More

Get Informed

Xpressbet News & Blogs have the latest Preakness Stakes updates, picks and analysis.

Learn More



War of Will Exits Preakness in Good Order, Targets Belmont Stakes

BALTIMORE — Gary Barber’s War of Will exited his 1 ¼-length victory over the late-running Everfast in Saturday’s144th Preakness Stakes (G1) at Pimlico Race Course in good order and will run i...

Read Article

2019 Preakness Stakes Post-Race Jockey & Trainer Quotes

Post-race quotes from the jockeys and trainers who participated in the 2019 Preakness Stakes: Mark Casse (Winning trainer, War of Will): “It was so important to win it. I just wanted him to get h...

Read Article

Point of Honor Wins 2019 Xpressbet Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

BALTIMORE – By the time the 95th edition of the $250,000 Black-Eyed Susan was set to run, Hall of Fame jockey Javier Castellano was already having a pretty good day. In just over a minute and a ha...

Read Article

Improbable is Favored in 2019 Preakness Stakes

BALTIMORE, MD – WinStar Farm LLC, China Horse Club International and Starlight Racing, principles in the ownership group of 2018 Triple Crown champion Justify, will once again be represented by a ...

Read Article

Get Xpressbet's FREE Preakness Stakes Wager Guide

No Country House, Maximum Security, Game Winner, Tacitus or Omaha Beach?  NO PROBLEM says our Handicapping Team!  The 2019 Preakness Stakes is May 18, 2019 and no matter who shows up, there's money...

Read Article

Alwaysmining ‘Aggressive’ in May 10 Workout for 2019 Preakness Stakes

BALTIMORE, MD – Runnymede Racing LLC’s Alwaysmining breezed a half-mile at Fair Hill Training Center in Elkton, Md. Friday morning in preparation for a planned start in the 144th Preakness Stake...

Read Article

Redemption – 144th Preakness Recap

Redemption. That’s what winning the 144th Preakness meant to War of Will’s trainer Mark Casse. Forget that in a post-race interview Casse said he wouldn’t use that word to describe his feelings...

Read Article

War of Will Comes Through in Preakness

A number of Preakness Stakes traditions continued last Saturday. Keeping with tradition, when the horses came onto the track for the Preakness Stakes post parade, the folks on hand at Pimlico Race Co...

Read Article

Preakness Proves to be Unstoppable Force

Absolute opinions have become the norm in this social media age. But Saturday’s Preakness Stakes once again proved that you can’t believe everything you read, hear and see. Those promising that th...

Read Article

Jon White's Preakness Selections

It is a Preakness Stakes tradition that when the horses come onto the track for the post parade, the folks on hand at Pimlico Race Course are invited to sing “Maryland, My Maryland,” the official ...

Read Article

Eddie Olczyk's 2019 Preakness Picks

Pour the BourbonBy Eddie Olczyk, NBC Sports Handicapper Analysis: Flat-out, it’s disappointing that the Kentucky Derby top-3 (plus Maximum Security) are not here for the Preakness. But that’s h...

Read Article

2019 Preakness Field Set + Post-Draw Reaction

Pimlico officials drew a field of 13 for Saturday’s 144th running of the Preakness Stakes, making for potentially the largest lineup in the middle jewel of the Triple Crown since 14 started in 201...

Read Article

Need help betting?

Call 866.88XPRESS or Send Us a Message

Don't Forget to Bet the Preakness Stakes

Sign Up now and enter Promo Code XB500 for your $500 Bonus,Promo Code XB100 for your $100 Bonus, or Promo Code XB20 for your $20 Bonus.

Bet the 2020 Preakness